Re: Pebble SDK 2.0

Today saw the end of Team Pebble’s controversial radio silence, and replaced it with an absolutely huge announcement in the form of a live stream. You can get the details here. The salient points are:

  1. A huge overhaul of the 1.x SDK, changing a huge amount of how apps are written.
  2. New APIs for access to accelerometer and JS services.
  3. Upgraded and streamlined developer tools.

The main implications for this for me, my watch/phone apps/faces and my tutorials are this; When the SDK 2.0 exits beta and it generally released, all the watch faces and apps I’ve developed for 1.x will cease to work, unless I upgrade them.

My priority for upgrade will be Watch Trigger and Watch Trigger +, followed by all the watch apps available in Watch App Selector. Maybe that will require splintering into two pages for 1.x and 2.0, or multiple buttons.

After this, I’ll write updates to the SDK Tutorial pages, but I’m uncertain of the format I’ll be using for that. I’ll sort it out though. Maybe even start a fresh…

All these upgrades will have to be in my free time, which I have a lot less of now (4th year Masters degree year), but I’ll do my best to get it done as fast as I can.

As always, feel free to get in touch with comments/concerns!

Leave a Reply

